跳到内容

2 0 1 8 F A C U L T Y和A R T I S T S

查尔斯·阿布拉莫维奇

天普大学键盘研究系主任

查尔斯·阿布拉莫维奇(Charles Abramovic)作为独奏家,室内音乐家以及与领先乐器演奏家和歌手的合作者而参加的国际演出赢得了广泛赞誉。他不仅在钢琴上演奏了丰富的曲目,还演奏了大键琴和复音钢琴。阿布拉莫维奇在匹兹堡交响乐团十四岁时首次登上管弦乐队。从那以后,他作为独奏家出现在众多乐团中,包括巴尔的摩交响乐团,科罗拉多爱乐乐团,佛罗里达爱乐乐团和内布拉斯加室内乐团。他曾在美国,法国和南斯拉夫进行独奏音乐会。他还出现在柏林,萨尔茨堡,百慕大,杜布罗夫尼克,阿斯彭和温哥华的主要国际音乐节上。 Abramovic经常与Midori,Sarah Chang,Robert McDuffie,Viktoria Mullova,Kim Kashkashian,Mimi Stillman和Jeffrey Khaner等杰出艺术家合作演出。他为DTR录制的Delius钢琴独奏作品录制受到广泛好评。他曾与小提琴家Sarah Chang一起录制EMI Classics,并与费城乐团首席长笛手Jeffrey Khaner一起录制了Avie Records。他积极参与当代音乐,还录制了Milton Babbitt,Joseph Schwantner,Gunther Schuller等人的作品,为Albany Records,CRI,Bridge和Naxos录制。自1988年以来,阿布拉莫维奇就一直在坦普尔(Temple)任教。他是费城音乐生活的活跃组成部分,曾与费城众多组织合作演出。他是Dolce Suono乐团的核心成员,并经常参加2001年新音乐与乐团网络的演出。1997年,他获得了费城音乐基金会的职业发展资助,并于2003年获得了天普大学的创新成就奖。他的老师包括Natalie Phillips,Eleanor Sokoloff,Leon Fleisher和Harvey Wedeen。

* PYPA保留更换因疾病或不可预见的自然力量而无法上课的教师的权利。如果教师因生病或无法预料的自然力量而无法上课,PYPA不会将学费退还给任何希望退学的参与者。

西蒙妮·晚餐斯坦

曼恩斯音乐学院,新学院

美国钢琴家西蒙妮·晚餐斯坦(Simone Dinnerstein)是一位富有创造力的艺术家,她渴望找到自己所追求的每件作品的音乐核心。这位纽约钢琴家录制巴赫的《戈德堡变奏曲》获得了非凡的成功,赢得了国际关注,她独立筹集了资金来进行录制。它于2007年在Telarc上发行,在其销售的第一周就荣登美国Billboard古典排行榜第一名,并入选了许多“ 2007年最佳”榜单,包括 纽约时报, 洛杉矶时报纽约客.

从2005年她在卡内基音乐厅的威尔独奏音乐会在纽约举行的首次独奏音乐会以来,Dinnerstein的演出时间表已遍及世界各地,包括肯尼迪表演艺术中心,维也纳音乐厅,柏林爱乐乐团,悉尼歌剧院,首尔艺术中心,伦敦的威格莫尔音乐厅;包括林肯中心的莫斯塔特节,阿斯彭,韦比尔和拉维尼亚节在内的节日;维也纳交响乐团,德累斯顿爱乐乐团,柏林国家歌剧院,RAI国家交响乐团,苏格兰皇家国家乐团,捷克爱乐乐团,丹麦国家交响乐团,纽约交响乐团,明尼苏达州交响乐团,亚特兰大交响乐团,巴尔的摩交响乐团,蒙特利尔交响乐团,墨尔本交响乐团,Sinfonica Brasileira的Orquestra和东京交响乐团。

Dinnerstein在全美范围内为Piatigorsky基金会举办了音乐会,该基金会致力于将古典音乐带入非传统场所。她在路易斯安娜州监狱系统的Avoyelles惩教中心进行了首场古典音乐表演,并在巴尔的摩交响乐团组织的音乐会中在马里兰州的妇女惩教所进行了表演。在2009年,Dinnerstein致力于她的社区,创建了Neighbourhood Classics,这是由纽约公立学校向公众开放的音乐会系列,为他们的音乐教育计划筹集资金。

Dinnerstein毕业于茱莉亚音乐学院,当时是Peter Serkin的学生。她还在曼哈顿音乐学院的所罗门·米科夫斯基(Solomon Mikowsky)和伦敦的玛丽亚·库西奥(Maria Curcio)学习。她在曼尼斯音乐学院任教,是索尼古典艺术家。她由Andrea Troolin管理 埃科诺米斯克管理 通过Blu Ocean Arts的Helen Henson进行预订代理。

加里·格拉夫曼

钢琴演奏家,钢琴系教授,柯蒂斯音乐学院前任校长

自18岁与尤金·奥曼迪(Eugene Ormandy)和费城乐团合作首次亮相以来,加里·格拉夫曼(Gary Graffman)一直是音乐界的重要人物。在接下来的三十年里,他几乎连续巡回演出,演奏了钢琴文学中最苛刻的作品。

他在纽约,费城,波士顿,克利夫兰和芝加哥的交响乐团的许多唱片下,如伯恩斯坦,奥曼迪,席尔和梅塔的指挥,包括柴可夫斯基,拉赫玛尼诺夫,普罗科菲耶夫,勃拉姆斯,肖邦和贝多芬的协奏曲;它们仍然被视为试金石。但是,在1979年,右手受伤,使格拉夫曼先生的演唱会仅限于左手演奏的小型曲目。从那以后,他已经委托创作了七部新作品,并且他继续拥有活跃的表演生涯。

格拉夫曼先生与柯蒂斯音乐学院的交往始于1936年,当时他7岁那年,他被伊莎贝尔·文格洛娃(Isabelle Vengerova)录取。他于1946年毕业。1980年,在因表现减退而受伤后,他加入了柯蒂斯钢琴系。

从1986年到2006年5月,他曾担任Curtis的董事,并于1995年至2006年担任总裁。

* PYPA保留更换因疾病或不可预见的自然力量而无法上课的教师的权利。如果教师因生病或无法预料的自然力量而无法上课,PYPA不会将学费退还给任何希望退学的参与者。

胡静云

天普大学教师音乐会钢琴演奏家艺术总监

杰出的台湾钢琴家胡静云被誉为“一流的才华”,并因其“诗意的色彩运用和自信的表达方式”(费城问询人)而受到赞誉,其令人眼花technique乱的技术,在世界范围内的探索使他享誉全球音乐性和直接沟通的表演风格。

除了获得第五届国际德国钢琴奖(2015)的提名外,胡静云还获得了2009年音乐会艺术家协会国际比赛的冠军。 2008年,她在特拉维夫举行的第12届亚瑟·鲁宾斯坦国际钢琴大师比赛中获得了最高奖项和观众喜爱奖,从而在以色列进行了七个城市的巡回演出,并获得了以色列爱乐乐团的特别邀请来演奏贝多芬的《钢琴协奏曲》。 1仅在一周内发出通知。随后,她的事业在五大洲活跃起来。

胡静云本赛季的亮点包括与博兹曼,怀俄明州和托皮卡交响乐团(柴可夫斯基协奏曲1号,拉赫玛尼诺夫协奏曲2号),韩国大田爱乐乐团(普罗科菲耶夫协奏曲3号)和巴西奥尔奎特拉·彼得罗布拉斯·辛菲尼克一起首次亮相。里约热内卢(肖邦协奏曲第1号)。预定的演出包括在澳门国际音乐节上举行的台北华乐团(Fazil Say的第三钢琴协奏曲,“安那托利亚的沉默”),纽约的Massapequa爱乐乐团(格里格钢琴协奏曲)和巴西的OrquestraFilarmônicadoEspíritoSanto(贝托芬芬托) 5号协奏曲)。她在世界各地有许多独奏音乐会和室内音乐合作,包括在美国,台湾和中国的独奏音乐会,返回布达佩斯的独奏音乐会以及在Jeffrey Kahane领导下的洛杉矶室内乐团举行的盛大音乐会。

胡静云(Ching-Yun Hu)于1999年在费城交响乐团首次亮相。她还曾担任客座独奏家,如阿斯彭音乐会乐团,纽约协奏曲,费城黑珍珠室内乐团以及特拉华州的交响乐团,杜佩奇,伊利诺伊州,米德兰,密歇根州,密西西比州,西北阿肯色州和怀俄明州。在国外,她曾与以色列室内乐团,英格兰的梅德斯通交响乐团,葡萄牙的奥尔加拉奥尔加拉,巴西的奥尔奎拉·菲拉莫尼卡·圣埃斯皮里托,巴西的奥尔库特拉·库里提巴,奥尔珀特拉的巴西石油公司,意大利爱乐乐团,南非的爱乐乐团,南非的爱乐乐团,中国的武汉爱乐乐团,台湾的台北中国乐团和常绿交响乐团。胡女士还与台湾国家交响乐团一起巡回演出。

最近的演奏会包括纽约卡内基音乐厅的威尔演奏会大厅和林肯表演艺术中心的爱丽丝·塔利音乐厅,华盛顿特区的约翰·肯尼迪表演艺术中心,阿斯彭音乐节,伦敦的威格莫尔音乐厅和南岸中心,巴黎的Salle Cortot,阿姆斯特丹的Concertgebouw,慕尼黑的Herkulesaal,布达佩斯的弗朗茨·李斯特音乐学院,波兰的肖邦国际音乐节和鲁宾斯坦爱乐音乐厅(罗兹),特拉维夫的歌剧院,台北的国家音乐厅和日本的大阪音乐厅。胡女士还是世界各地杰出音乐节的常客艺术家。

胡静云的首张唱片,于2011年在台湾唱片公司ArchiMusic发行的全肖邦CD,获得了2012年台湾年度最佳古典专辑金曲奖。 2013年秋天,她的第二张CD发行了– Granados,Mozart和Ravel的音乐-在CAG Records和台湾索尼音乐唱片公司发行。

胡静云是台北人,在13岁时与波兰Capella Cracoriensis室内乐团合作首次亮相亚洲巡回演出。一年后,她移居美国,主要在谢尔盖·巴巴扬(Sergei Babayan)和卡尔·海因茨·卡默林(Karl-Heinz Kammerling)的合作下,在纽约的茱莉亚音乐学院继续音乐学习。她还与约瑟夫·卡利希施泰因(Joseph Kalichstein)和西摩·利普金(Seymour Lipkin)学习室内音乐,并获得了理查德·古德(Richard Goode)和穆雷·佩拉希亚(Murray Perahia)的额外指导。

2008年,胡静云被台湾文化部授予荣誉奖,以表彰她的艺术成就。除表演外,胡女士还热衷于倡导古典音乐。她在AVA创立了云祥国际音乐节和费城青年钢琴家学院,邀请了一些全球最受欢迎的艺术家在台北和费城享有声望的音乐厅演出,并与有抱负的年轻音乐家合作。

胡静云(Ching-Yun Hu)在费城神庙大学Esther Boyer音乐与舞蹈学院的钢琴系任职。

www.chingyunhu.com

* PYPA保留更换因疾病或不可预见的自然力量而无法上课的教师的权利。如果教师因生病或无法预料的自然力量而无法上课,PYPA不会将学费退还给任何希望退学的参与者。

杰罗姆·洛文塔尔(Jerome Lowenthal)

朱莉亚德钢琴学院

杰罗姆·洛文塔尔(Jerome Lowenthal)出生于1932年,一直吸引着众多观众,他的演奏充满青春活力和口才,源于生活。他是手指和情感的专家。 Lowenthal先生曾在他的家乡费城与Olga Samaroff-Stokowski一起学习,在纽约与William Kapell和Edward Steuermann一起就读,并在巴黎与Alfred Cortot一起就读,同时每年前往洛杉矶与Artur Rubinstein进行教练。在三项国际比赛(博尔扎诺,达姆施塔特和布鲁塞尔)中获奖后,他移居耶路撒冷,在那里他玩,教,讲了三年书。

返回美国后,他与纽约爱乐乐团合作演奏了巴托克的《协奏曲》。 1963年2月。从阿留申派到萨格勒布,他在各地的演出或多或少。他曾作为独奏者出现的指挥家包括Barenboim,Ozawa,Tilson Thomas,Temirkanov和Slatkin,以及过去的巨人,如Leonard Bernstein,Eugene Ormandy,Pierre Monteux和Leopold Stokowski。他曾与Itzhak Perlman奏鸣曲,与Ronit Amir(已故妻子),Carmel Lowenthal(他的女儿)和Ursula Oppens演奏钢琴二重奏,以及与Lark,Avalon和Shanghai Quartets演奏五重奏。

他最近录制了李斯特完整的Annees de Pelerinage。他的其他唱片包括Tchaikovsky和Liszt的协奏曲,Sinding和Bartok的独奏作品,Liszt和Busoni的歌剧复述以及Arensky和Taneyev的室内音乐。教学也是Lowenthal先生音乐生活的重要组成部分。在茱莉亚音乐学院(Juilliard School)呆了23年,在西方音乐学院(Music Academy of Western)呆了45个夏天,他与数量众多的有才华的钢琴家合作,他鼓励他们从广泛的审美和文化角度了解他们演奏的音乐并以该视角允许的自由进行投射。

* PYPA保留更换因疾病或不可预见的自然力量而无法上课的教师的权利。如果教师因生病或无法预料的自然力量而无法上课,PYPA不会将学费退还给任何希望退学的参与者。

乔纳森·埃弗特

乔纳森·埃弗特公共关系创始人

麦克·麦克卢尔

钢琴演奏家
哥伦比亚波哥大国立大学键盘研究主任

马修·奥伯施泰因

Opus 3艺术家管理部副总裁

皮埃尔·范德·韦斯特赫伊曾

吉尔莫尔键盘节执行总监

不要点击此链接,否则您将被禁止访问该网站!
zh_CNChinese
Powered by TranslatePress »

FACULTY & ARTISTS

Charles Abramovic

Chair, Keyboard Studies, Temple University

Charles Abramovic has won critical acclaim for his international performances as a soloist, chamber musician, and collaborator with leading instrumentalists and singers. He has performed a vast repertoire not only on the piano, but also the harpsichord and fortepiano. Abramovic made his solo orchestral debut at the age of fourteen with the Pittsburgh Symphony. Since then he has appeared as soloist with numerous orchestras, including the Baltimore Symphony, the Colorado Philharmonic, the Florida Philharmonic, and the Nebraska Chamber Orchestra. He has given solo recitals throughout the United States, France and Yugoslavia. He has also appeared at major international festivals in Berlin, Salzburg, Bermuda, Dubrovnik, Aspen and Vancouver. Abramovic has performed often with such stellar artists as Midori, Sarah Chang, Robert McDuffie, Viktoria Mullova, Kim Kashkashian, Mimi Stillman and Jeffrey Khaner. His recording of the solo piano works of Delius for DTR recordings has been widely praised. He has recorded for EMI Classics with violinist Sarah Chang, and Avie Recordings with Philadelphia Orchestra principal flutist Jeffrey Khaner. Actively involved with contemporary music, he has also recorded works of Milton Babbitt, Joseph Schwantner, Gunther Schuller and others for Albany Records, CRI, Bridge, and Naxos. Abramovic has taught at Temple since 1988. He is an active part of the musical life of Philadelphia, performing with numerous organizations in the city. He is a core member of the Dolce Suono Ensemble, and performs often with Network for New Music and Orchestra 2001. In 1997 he received the Career Development Grant from the Philadelphia Musical Fund Society, and in 2003 received the Creative Achievement Award from Temple University. His teachers have included Natalie Phillips, Eleanor Sokoloff, Leon Fleisher, and Harvey Wedeen.

 

*PYPA retains the right to replace a faculty who is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature.  In the event a faculty is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature, PYPA will not refund tuition to any participant that wishes to withdraw.

Simone Dinnerstein

Faculty, Mannes School of Music, The New School

 

American pianist Simone Dinnerstein is a searching and inventive artist who is motivated by a desire to find the musical core of every work she approaches. The New York-based pianist gained an international following with the remarkable success of her recording of Bach’s Goldberg Variations, which she independently raised the funds  to record. Released in 2007 on Telarc, it ranked No. 1 on the U.S. Billboard Classical Chart in its first week of sales and was named to many “Best of 2007” lists including those of The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, and The New Yorker.

 

Dinnerstein’s performance schedule has taken her around the world since her acclaimed New York recital debut at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall in 2005, to venues including the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Vienna Konzerthaus, Berlin Philharmonie, Sydney Opera House, Seoul Arts Center, and London’s Wigmore Hall; festivals that include the Lincoln Center Mostly Mozart Festival, the Aspen, Verbier, and Ravinia festivals; and performances with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, Dresden Philharmonic, Staatskapelle Berlin, RAI National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony, Baltimore Symphony, Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Orquestra a Sinfonica Brasileira, and the Tokyo Symphony.

 

Dinnerstein has played concerts throughout the U.S. for the Piatigorsky Foundation, an organization dedicated to bringing classical music to non-traditional venues. She gave the first classical music performance in the Louisiana state prison system at the Avoyelles Correctional Center, and performed at the Maryland Correctional Institution for Women in a concert organized by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Dedicated to her community, in 2009 Dinnerstein founded Neighborhood Classics, a concert series open to the public hosted by New York public schools which raises funds for their music education programs.

Dinnerstein is a graduate of The Juilliard School where she was a student of Peter Serkin. She also studied with Solomon Mikowsky at the Manhattan School of Music and in London with Maria Curcio.  She is on the faculty of the Mannes School of Music and is a Sony Classical artist. She is managed by Andrea Troolin at Ekonomisk Mgmt with booking representation through Helen Henson at Blu Ocean Arts.

Gary Graffman

Concert Pianist, Piano Faculty and Former President of Curtis Institute of Music.

Gary Graffman has been a major figure in the music world since his debut with Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra at the age of eighteen. For the next three decades he toured almost continuously, playing the most demanding works in the piano literature.

 

His numerous recordings with the orchestras of New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Cleveland, and Chicago under such conductors as Bernstein, Ormandy, Szell, and Mehta include concertos by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, Brahms, Chopin, and Beethoven; they are still regarded as touchstones. In 1979, however, an injury to his right hand limited Mr. Graffman’s concertizing to the small body of repertoire for left hand alone. Since then seven new works have been commissioned for him, and he continues to have an active performing career.

 

Mr. Graffman’s association with the Curtis Institute of Music began in 1936, when he was accepted, at the age of seven, to study with Isabelle Vengerova. He graduated in 1946. In 1980, following his performance-reducing injury, he joined the Curtis piano faculty.

 

From 1986 through May 2006, he served as director of Curtis, as well as president from 1995 to 2006.

 

*PYPA retains the right to replace a faculty who is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature.  In the event a faculty is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature, PYPA will not refund tuition to any participant that wishes to withdraw.

Ching-Yun Hu

Artistic Director, Concert Pianist, Faculty at Temple University

Declared a first-class talentand praised for her poetic use of color and confidently expressive phrasing(The Philadelphia Inquirer), the distinguished Taiwanese pianist Ching-Yun Hu is recognized and acclaimed world-wide for her dazzling technique, deeply probing musicality, and directly communicative performance style.

 

Apart from her nomination to the 5th International German Piano Award (2015), Ching-Yun Hu was also named a winner of the 2009 Concert Artists Guild International Competition. In 2008, she captured the top prize and the Audience Favorite Prize at the 12th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv, resulting in a seven-city tour across Israel and a special invitation from the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra to perform Beethovens Piano Concerto No. 1 on only a weeks notice. Subsequently, her career has flourished with engagements on five continents.

 

Highlights of Ching-Yun Hus season included debuts with the Bozeman, Wyoming and Topeka Symphony Orchestras (Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1, Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 2), South Korea’s Daejeon Philharmonic Orchestra (Prokofiev Concerto No. 3) and Brazils Orquestra Petrobras Sinfônica in Rio De Janeiro (Chopin Concerto No. 1). Scheduled return performances include the Taipei Chinese Orchestra (Fazil Says Piano Concerto No. 3,  Silence of Anatolia) at the Macau International Music Festival, New Yorks Massapequa Philharmonic Orchestra (Grieg Piano Concerto), and Brazils Orquestra Filarmônica do Espírito Santo (Beethoven Concerto No. 5). She has had many solo recitals and chamber music collaborations throughout the world including recital tours in the U.S., Taiwan, and China, a return recital to Budapest, and a gala concert with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra under Jeffrey Kahane.  

 

Ching-Yun Hu made her debut with The Philadelphia Orchestra in 1999. She has also been the guest soloist with the Aspen Concert Orchestra, New York Concerti Sinfonietta, and Philadelphias Black Pearl Chamber Orchestra, as well as the symphony orchestras of Delaware, DuPage, Illinois, Midland, Michigan, Mississippi, Northwest Arkansas, and Wyoming.  Abroad, she has appeared with the Israel Chamber Orchestra, Englands Maidstone Symphony Orchestra, Portugals Orquestra do Algarve, Brazils Orquestra Filarmônica do Espírito Santo, Orquestra do Curitiba, Orquestra Petrobras Sinfônica and Orquestra Experimental de Repertorio, South Africas Johannesburg Philharmonic Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Chinas Wuhan Philharmonic Orchestra, and Taiwans Taipei Chinese Orchestra and Evergreen Symphony Orchestra. Ms. Hu has also toured with the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra.

 

Recent recitals have included programs at New York Citys Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, Washington D.C.’s John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Aspen Music Festival, Londons Wigmore Hall and Southbank Centre, ParisSalle Cortot, Amsterdams Concertgebouw, Munichs Herkulesaal, Budapests Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Polands Chopin International Festival and Rubinstein Philharmonic Hall (Lodz), Tel Avivs Opera House, Taipeis National Concert Hall, and Japans Osaka Hall. Ms. Hu is also a frequent guest artist at distinguished music festivals throughout the world.

 

Ching-Yun Hus debut recording, an all-Chopin CD released in 2011 on the Taiwanese label ArchiMusic, won Taiwans 2012 Golden Melody Award for Best Classical Album of the Year. The fall of 2013 saw the release of her second CD – music of Granados, Mozart and Ravel – on the CAG Records and Sony Music Taiwan labels.

 

A native of Taipei, Ching-Yun Hu made her concerto debut at the age of 13 with the Poland Capella Cracoriensis Chamber Orchestra on tour in Asia. One year later, she moved to the United States to continue her musical studies at The Juilliard School in New York City, working principally with Sergei Babayan and Karl-Heinz Kammerling. She also studied chamber music with Joseph Kalichstein and Seymour Lipkin, and received additional guidance from Richard Goode and Murray Perahia.

 

In 2008, Ching-Yun Hu was awarded an honorary prize from Taiwans Ministry of Culture, recognizing her artistic achievements. In addition to performing, Ms. Hu is a keen advocate for the promotion of classical music. She founded the Yun-Hsiang International Music Festival and the Philadelphia Young Pianists Academy at AVA, which invites some of the most sought-after artists from around the globe to perform at prestigious concert halls in Taipei and Philadelphia and work with aspiring young musicians.

 

Ching-Yun Hu serves on the piano faculty of the Esther Boyer College of Music and Dance at Philadelphias Temple University.

www.chingyunhu.com

 

*PYPA retains the right to replace a faculty who is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature.  In the event a faculty is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature, PYPA will not refund tuition to any participant that wishes to withdraw.

Jerome Lowenthal

Piano Faculty, Juilliard

Jerome Lowenthal, born in 1932, continues to fascinate audiences, who find in his playing a youthful intensity and an eloquence born of life-experience. He is a virtuoso of the fingers and the emotions. Mr. Lowenthal studied in his native Philadelphia with Olga Samaroff-Stokowski, in New York with William Kapell and Edward Steuermann, and in Paris with Alfred Cortot, meanwhile traveling annually to Los Angeles for coachings with Artur Rubinstein. After winning prizes in three international competitions (Bolzano, Darmstadt, and Brussels), he moved to Jerusalem where, for three years, he played, taught and lectured.

 

Returning to America, he made his debut with the New York Philharmonic playing Bartok’s Concerto no. 2 in 1963. Since then, he has performed more-or-less everywhere, from the Aleutians to Zagreb. Conductors with whom he has appeared as soloist include Barenboim, Ozawa, Tilson Thomas, Temirkanov, and Slatkin, as well as such giants of the past as Leonard Bernstein, Eugene Ormandy, Pierre Monteux and Leopold Stokowski. He has played sonatas with Itzhak Perlman, piano duos with Ronit Amir (his late wife), Carmel Lowenthal (his daughter), and Ursula Oppens, as well as quintets with the Lark, Avalon and Shanghai Quartets.

 

He has recently recorded the complete Annees de Pelerinage of Liszt. His other recordings include concerti by Tschaikovsky and Liszt, solo works by Sinding and Bartok, opera paraphrases by Liszt and Busoni, and chamber-music by Arensky and Taneyev. Teaching, too, is an important part of Mr. Lowenthal’s musical life. For twenty-three years at the Juilliard School and for forty-five summers at the Music Academy of the West, he has worked with an extraordinary number of gifted pianists, whom he encourages to understand the music they play in a wide aesthetic and cultural perspective and to project it with the freedom which that perspective allows.

 

*PYPA retains the right to replace a faculty who is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature.  In the event a faculty is unable to attend due to illness or unforeseen force of nature, PYPA will not refund tuition to any participant that wishes to withdraw.

Jonathan Eifert

Founder, Jonathan Eifert Public Relations

Mac McClure

Concert Pianist
Director, Keyboard Studies, National University of Bogota, Colombia

Matthew Oberstein

Vice-President, Opus 3 Artists Management

Pierre van der Westhuizen

Executive Director, Gilmore Keyboard Festival
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search